Can I burn wood in chimney flue?
Help and information on all topics relating to your central heating, air conditioning and ventilation issues.

5 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
Roclive
Labourer
Labourer
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 1:36 pm

Can I burn wood in chimney flue?

by Roclive » Wed Dec 10, 2008 1:50 pm

Some 15 years ago we had a flue inserted in our old coal fire chimney, as it was deemed too costly to re-point the brickwork due to its age (18th century).
We were told at the time not to burn wood, only coal, but it that an exact science, or is it ok to use wood as a fuel (it's a lot cheaper!)?
Any advice much appreciated.

stoneyboy
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 6446
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 6:44 pm

by stoneyboy » Wed Dec 10, 2008 7:10 pm

Roclive,
Are you using a stove or is it and open fire?
end

Roclive
Labourer
Labourer
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 1:36 pm

Re: Can I burn wood in chimney flue?

by Roclive » Thu Dec 11, 2008 9:26 am

Just as an open coal fire - no back boiler or anything. It's on the first floor of a three storey building.

stoneyboy
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 6446
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 6:44 pm

by stoneyboy » Thu Dec 11, 2008 4:07 pm

Roclive,
If you wished to comply with current BRegs the flue liner would need to be 200mm diameter for an open fire. If you are going to burn wood the fire will need a lot more air therefore a larger flue.
Assuming the lining material is SS I suggest you try burning wood and if the flue is not big enough the fire will fill the room with smoke. If you are going to burn wood regularly the flue will need sweeping 2x a year.
end

htg engineer
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 3256
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 6:22 pm

by htg engineer » Sat Dec 13, 2008 10:11 am

Also check you're not living in a smokeless zone - otherwise you may receive a hefty fine.

htg

5 posts   •   Page 1 of 1