Testing and Form BS7671
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
shipyardspark
Apprentice
Apprentice

Testing and Form BS7671

by shipyardspark » Wed Nov 12, 2008 9:58 pm

Hi All, My first post so be gentle! Have just completed a major extension to my house and have done the complete electrical installation on my own. I am a trained electrician (albeit I did my apprenticeship in the 60s) and have worked as an Electrical and Electronics Engineer for the past 40 years and am now retired. The work has been carried out under the guidance of the LABC (first fit etc) and I am now at the stage where I will need to call the LABC Inspector in to sign it off. When he last visited he was not sure whether or not he would want to have the installation tested. Reading through the IET website and others it would appear that as a competent person I can sign off the BS7671 as required by Part P. The installation has been checked for polarity, meggered etc. Is this sufficient for the BS7671 or are additional tests required? I don,t have the new Test Equipment but I suppose I could hire it. I am aiming to have a completed set of documents for the LABC consisting of full specifications, pics of first fit cable runs, circuit diagrams and a completed BS7671 etc.

In addition, the installation was drafted under the 16 Editon and has obviously now been completed after the 17th Edition has been introduced. Is this likely to cause me problems

Any thoughts or advice would be most welcome.

ericmark

by ericmark » Thu Nov 13, 2008 12:18 pm