expansion gaps in concrete paths
Post your questions and get answers regarding all areas of drives, pathways and patios

2 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
Nearlyman
Tradesman
Tradesman

expansion gaps in concrete paths

by Nearlyman » Wed Oct 31, 2012 1:14 pm

Around part of the perimeter of my house is a 900mm wide 'L' shaped concrete slab pathway: it extends along the entire length of the gable end and around the 90 deg corner to about half the length of the house, measured from the gable end, finishing at the paved patio immediately adjacent patio doors which open on to it.

Pitched at about 3M intervals there are 3 slots - quite deep - across the width of the pathway and which are about half inch wide: I am certain these are expansion slots/gaps.(I was an engineer not an architect :=))
Problem(?): in Nov 2004, when the house was built, these gaps/slots were filled with some kind of dense but resilient material; I've no idea what kind of substance it was neither did I know the purpose it served: clearly it was put there for some good(?) reason else the "gap" would have simply been left empty....?

It has become apparent, over time, however that this material - whatever its nature - was formulated (on the evidence) to be biodegradable, because it has now completely eroded/disappeared!

Because the gap is relatively deep it provides an ideal dirt trap and regularly fills with small pieces of debris not least; grass cuttings, bits of leaf and sundry other detritus which can occur from time to time in most gardens.