what can I expect when elec board arrive on site
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
deepbluearcher
Apprentice
Apprentice

what can I expect when elec board arrive on site

by deepbluearcher » Sun Feb 24, 2008 1:37 am

Hi all I am an electrical fitter by trade so competent around electrical engineering but a bit green when dealing with domestics. I am currently updating my quals to the 17th but in the mean time here is my problem:

I have just bought a barn and have a 3phase supply coming in but no meters. It is a tt supply and therre is an earth spike with a 6mm2 earth.

I need to connect some temp supplies for lighting, power and also a feed to my caravan. I am planning on installing a 63A RCD consumer unit using standard mains tails then running 6mm2 SWA to the caravan and then to a 40A garage rcd unit in my workshop. I was planning on using the armour as the earth which is Ok according to the regs, and was going to upgrade the earth cable to the eartth spike with 16mm2 which would make it all complient with the 17th as far as I can see. Can anyone advise me if this seems OK.

Also what are the electric board going to want to see before connecting this installation as I am not an niceic approved installer or hold part p etc.

Any advice much appreciated.

ericmark

by ericmark » Sun Feb 24, 2008 2:12 pm

Electric board will normally supply either to an isolating switch or to some form of consumer unit.
63A is under sized really normally 100A supply and since three phase I would a MG three phase board as they have handy neutral bar down the middle to fit RCBO's to no silly neutral tails. Main incomer I would use a 100A 100ma type S RCB. As to earths depends on size of SWA but equivalent to 25mm² is min I think you will find so I would think you will need a copper earth cable.
The earth connection may also be a problem and may need to be up graded to 16mm² before you connect supply.