A few questions on new wiring
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

5 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
JockeyB
Apprentice
Apprentice

A few questions on new wiring

by JockeyB » Fri Apr 03, 2009 10:46 am

Hello. I'm new to submitting something on this forum but had already used some of the advise on it. I'm now after some help/advise please on a few wiring issues I'm having.

1: I'm putting a 2 way lighting system into a utility room (using 1mm T&E & 1mm 3core & E). I thought I could run T&E from the CU to the first ceiling rose, connect all additional lights from that first rose and run live feed from said rose down to first switch. Then connect the 2 switches using the 3 core & E. However, most diagrams I've found show live feed from CU going through a JB. Are both ways correct? Is the JB method used if I wanted to run another light circuit from the same CU MCB?

2: Can I run plastic 20mm conduit in Celotex and then screed over it?

3: Can I still use plastic capping on block work (to be plastered over)?

Think that will do........for now. Look forward to receiving replies.

Jockey

kbrownie
Project Manager
Project Manager

by kbrownie » Fri Apr 03, 2009 6:57 pm

Hi Jockey,
What you suggesting to do sounds like a good logical method of installation.
BUT! and there always is one, if you have been reading some of the recent post on this forum.
You will notice that document p of the building regulation pops up a lot, I advise you to have a look in project pages on part p.
As you are installing the lighting circuit from the CU it automatically becomes a new circuit and under regulation should have an EIC (Electrical Installation Certificate) which will also require schedules of inspection and testing, this will prove it conforms to BS7671:2008 which it must do!
Regards
KB

JockeyB
Apprentice
Apprentice

by JockeyB » Mon Apr 06, 2009 11:10 am

Hello KB,