Adding a spur to a ring main
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
cloggy
Labourer
Labourer
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 5:10 pm

Adding a spur to a ring main

by cloggy » Thu Jul 30, 2009 5:19 pm

I have read the article on adding a spur to a ring main anf have a question:
If I add a spur from a socket on a ring main ring main to supply a new double socket using 2.5 mm TE then the double socket on this spur could have two 13 amp appliances plugged into it but the single 2.5 spur cable is only rated at about 24 amps and the ring main supplying it has a 30 amp fuse. Is this right, surely the 2.5 mm cable is only capable of supplying a single 13amp socket on such a spur ??

Thanks

ALan

sparx
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.

by sparx » Thu Jul 30, 2009 6:53 pm

Hi, what would you possible put on a double socket that took that much load? not likely to put 2X 3kW heaters next to each other!!
The regs have been designed to allow for diversity of load by knowledgable engineers.
As long as the rules for each of the 3 types of power circuit are adhered to all is well, if it ain't broke don't fix it!!
regards Sparx

moggy1968
Ganger
Ganger
Posts: 198
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 11:32 am

by moggy1968 » Thu Jul 30, 2009 7:10 pm

thats why you can only spur one socket, unless you fuse it down

cloggy
Labourer
Labourer
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 5:10 pm

by cloggy » Thu Jul 30, 2009 8:38 pm

Many thanks for the reply.

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
It is currently Wed May 29, 2024 6:31 am