Bathroom Wash Basin loose in it's fitting
Help, advice and problem solutions on all aspects of home appliances from washing machines to TV's

5 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
Greek
Apprentice
Apprentice

Bathroom Wash Basin loose in it's fitting

Post by Greek » Thu Apr 14, 2022 10:04 pm

Hi all,

Hope someone can point me in the right direction. My washbasin sits flush into the bathroom unit, but just recently has started to move ever so slightly if you lean on it. Is this just a case of re-applying the relevant sealing to secure it? Or do I need to do something more technical? Can send a picture if necessary. I'm no expert so let me know if I need to give more info.

Thanks
Yvonne ,

stoneyboy
Project Manager
Project Manager

Re: Bathroom Wash Basin loose in it's fitting

Post by stoneyboy » Sat Apr 16, 2022 10:44 pm

Hi greek,
From your description I assume you have a semi fit countertop basin. This type may have retaining brackets underneath but that does not mean that the installer bothered to use them. If there are no brackets the basin may be just stuck in place using silicone mastic.
Regards S

Greek
Apprentice
Apprentice

Post by Greek » Fri Apr 22, 2022 3:07 am

Thank you. Yes, it is a semi fit and I've looked at the sides where it's now loose and I can clearly see the silicone fixing adhesive. Would you recommend simply applying a fresh amount of adhesive into the loose gaps?? Or should I do something a bit more long lasting??

Please bear with me, I have little or no DIY knowledge. My motto has always been 'Get a man in.' Not least because I can't stand to watch people make an absolute car crash of a job just to save face.
Regards
Yvonne

Greek
Apprentice
Apprentice

Post by Greek » Fri Apr 22, 2022 3:15 am

stoneyboy wrote:Hi greek,