Computer "freezing"
Help and advice on software, hardware, configuration and general computing issues and problems

6 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
27col
Apprentice
Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:55 pm

Computer "freezing"

by 27col » Mon Oct 19, 2009 8:54 pm

Can anyone possibly tell me why my computer freezes when I go onto a particular website. It is quite happy on just about any other site except for this one. I use Mozilla Firefox.
Google "portsmouth.co.uk"
I have never managed to go on it without the computer "freezing". any ideas would be much appreciated

steve the plumber
Ganger
Ganger
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 10:32 pm

by steve the plumber » Tue Oct 20, 2009 5:35 pm

Just tried it on IE8, Firefox and Chrome and works fine.

Do you have the upto date flash downloads installed?

acsimpson
Foreman
Foreman
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 11:33 pm

by acsimpson » Wed Oct 21, 2009 10:04 am

My computer did that with the Honda website for a while. I didn't have to revert to buying a Ford, but I did have to use IE for the site. I guess if supporting Heart's isn't an option you could try Internet Explorer too.

27col
Apprentice
Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:55 pm

by 27col » Wed Oct 21, 2009 6:54 pm

Many thanks for the replies. I have just been trying the defective site on IE and it seems to be working ok. So I will have to use IE in future. It's all a bit of a mystery.

acsimpson
Foreman
Foreman
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 11:33 pm

by acsimpson » Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:18 am

It's no mystery, it's just a case of lazy web developers assuming that everyone is using Micros**t technology.

justint
Labourer
Labourer
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 2:34 am

by justint » Sun Oct 25, 2009 12:18 am

If you want something more like Firefox for when FF isn't working, you could give Chrome a try. I know I find using IE to be distasteful.

6 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
It is currently Mon Apr 29, 2024 1:04 pm