Connecting a cooker hood to an existing socket
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

3 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
Rastanking
Tradesman
Tradesman
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 1:29 pm

Connecting a cooker hood to an existing socket

Post by Rastanking » Sat Jul 25, 2009 8:49 am

Hi everyone,

I've just installed a cooker hood and am thinking of what to do with the cabling it comes with 13amp plug so can I

Cut the plug off and connect it spur it to the socket or do I have to spur a socket nearer to the hood and connect it to the socket?

Also I have an gas oven and hob can I spur the electric ingnition into an existing socket?

Any help that anyone could give would be appreciated.

rosebery
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 2021
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 8:55 pm

Post by rosebery » Sat Jul 25, 2009 9:08 am

Hi

Kitchen is a "special location" under building regulations which means you (or I) can't DIY it unless you've got building control involved first. Best to get yourself an electrican who can self certify. He will advise you.

Cheers

moggy1968
Ganger
Ganger
Posts: 198
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 11:32 am

Post by moggy1968 » Tue Jul 28, 2009 10:21 pm

I think thats why it comes with a plug. if you can plug it in it doesn't need to be certed

3 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
It is currently Sun May 26, 2024 10:55 am