Electric Ring Mains
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

6 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
pete bowers
Apprentice
Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 3:21 pm

Electric Ring Mains

by pete bowers » Wed Jan 28, 2009 3:57 pm

I have just removed a dividing wall between kitchen and diner. Sited at the bottom half way along is the 1st in line of 3 linked double sockets, the 2nd in the diner the 3rd in the kitchen. I want to resite the 1st in line but the wiring is not long enough and lifting the floor boards would be a major project. Can I am I allowed to fit a 30amp junction box between 1st and 2nd which would then allow me to resite the original?.

RFLighting
Apprentice
Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 6:15 pm

by RFLighting » Wed Jan 28, 2009 6:05 pm

Where would this junction box be located?

Are you wanting to bury it in the wall?

You're knocking down walls, but lifting a floorboard is too much of a job??

Oh, and the correct term is "ring final circuit"

kbrownie
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 1995
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 9:36 pm

by kbrownie » Wed Jan 28, 2009 9:15 pm

You are not allowed to use any accessories that can not be easily accessible for inspection at a later date. So if you intend placing under floor or buried in wall. Your answer is no. (Unless it is maintainace free)
So really you need crimp or solder joints and resin insulate.
Or get some longer cable installed. Unless the joint is accessible.
KB

pete bowers
Apprentice
Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 3:21 pm

by pete bowers » Thu Jan 29, 2009 8:44 am

Mr R F Lighting.
As a first time user of DIY Doctor I was very dissapointed with your reply,


THANKYOU MR BROWNIE I WILL NOW PROCEED TAKING YOUR ADVICE

pete bowers
Apprentice
Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 3:21 pm

by pete bowers » Thu Jan 29, 2009 8:49 am

[quote="kbrownie"]You are not allowed to use any accessories that can not be easily accessible for inspection at a later date. So if you intend placing under floor or buried in wall. Your answer is no. (Unless it is maintainace free)
So really you need crimp or solder joints and resin insulate.
Or get some longer cable installed. Unless the joint is accessible.
KB[/quote]

Mr Brownie.
Many thanks for your advice which is exactly the same as an electrician friend of mine had given me after I had posted the question. I will hopefully hear from you again if I need further advice.
Rgds. Pete B.

kbrownie
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 1995
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 9:36 pm

by kbrownie » Fri Jan 30, 2009 7:44 am

pete bowers,
Thank you for your kind reply it is good to know that your advise has helped and been acknowledged.
In support of RFlighting, they where asking the right questions to hopefully answer you in a more concise way on reply. So even at first look may not have been the response you desired. I'm sure they would have been able to solve your problem (sometimes it is not easy to get the full picture and need a little more explaination)
Good luck with your project and be safe
KB

6 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 10:34 pm