How do I split my ariel connection?
Help, advice and problem solutions on all aspects of home appliances from washing machines to TV's

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
PeterGreene
Labourer
Labourer
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 4:29 pm

How do I split my ariel connection?

by PeterGreene » Mon Jan 05, 2009 4:36 pm

We currently have one ariel connection into ground floor but wish to get the ariel to go to the 1st floor also by a separate cable. We have a flat roof so easy access but does anyone know what I need to do with regard to wiring from ariel to 1st floor/breaking the cable so two ariel points in the house??

stoneyboy
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 6446
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 6:44 pm

by stoneyboy » Mon Jan 05, 2009 11:19 pm

PeterGreene,
Buy yourself an aerial amplifier with 2/3 outputs. Cut the cable at a convenient point in the house near to a power supply, fit plugs and run a new length of aerial cable to the upstairs. Make sure you get the right plugs to fit in the sockets on the amplifier.
end

ericmark

by ericmark » Fri Jan 16, 2009 11:25 am

You can get mast head amplifiers which will allow multi outputs from one aerial which if the signal is poor is best way. But where you have a good signal a Y connector may well do the job. TV aerial cables are "matched" and when you split you need to add some resistors to keep it matched which are included in a Y connector not simple connect two wires together.
All depends how good your signal is.

TheDoctor5
Posts: 1381
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 9:17 am

by TheDoctor5 » Tue Jan 20, 2009 9:33 am

Last year 64% of the questions asked in our forum were answered within our DIY project pages at www.diydoctor.org.uk/projects.htm The project pages are now separated alphabetically and your answers are accompanied by diagrams and the ability to see, and buy, the tools and/or required to complete your project. Use our search box to look for your answer and save a great deal of time and money!

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
It is currently Sun May 26, 2024 7:22 am