Microwave - extending the lead to reach plug
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

5 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
electrichelp
Labourer
Labourer
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 1:41 pm

Microwave - extending the lead to reach plug

by electrichelp » Sat Oct 24, 2009 1:46 pm

Hi

Would be very grateful for any help/tips on this please!

I have a microwave - the lead is too short to reach the plug and I can't move it (as no space) and can't put in another socket.

I'm proposing to cut the plug off the microwave lead and then join it to another piece of wire so that it is long enough to reach the socket.

I'm proposing to use a 30Amp junction box to join the existing wire from the microwave to the new bit of wire.

Is this okay to do/safe?

The junction box has screws inside, do I just sit each wire under these and screw back down tightly so that it holds the wires in place.

Many thanks!

ericmark
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 2855
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 9:49 pm
Location: Llanfair Caereinion, Mid Wales.

by ericmark » Sat Oct 24, 2009 8:39 pm

A google for In line cable connector will bring up many suitable products like this. Ups sorry links don't work. They are small rubber or nylon boxes with cable grips. The main thing is some resistance to splashes and cable retention. The IEC 13 plug and socket would be what I would use.

I tried to give links but pre-view is not showing them maybe someone can point out what I have got wrong?

BLAKEY1963
Site Agent
Site Agent
Posts: 684
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 11:57 pm

by BLAKEY1963 » Sun Oct 25, 2009 9:06 am

ELECTRICHELP
if the microwave has a pre moulded plug , thats intergrated into the flex , as with most type of domestic appliances brought nowadays , the information states that removing this plug arrangement invalidates the warenty on the product.

BLAKEY1963

electrichelp
Labourer
Labourer
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 1:41 pm

by electrichelp » Sun Oct 25, 2009 4:47 pm

Thanks very much for the replies.

When I google in line cable connectors I get stuff to do with TV aerials (!) - please could you post a link to the one you mean?

I know the warranty will be affected (it is a pre-moulded plug) but the microwave is old so it doesnt matter.

Would the junction box not be okay if, once correctly wired, I tape it all up with insulation tape? I have a spare junction box lying about so this would save having to buy anything else - just wanted to check it was safe? It's a 30Amp one which I think is the correct sort.

Many thanks.

ericmark
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 2855
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 9:49 pm
Location: Llanfair Caereinion, Mid Wales.

by ericmark » Sun Oct 25, 2009 9:36 pm

Whole range shown here (Google "uk.rs-online.com/web/search/searchBrowseAction.html?method=retrieveTfg&binCount=15&Ne=4294957561&Ntt=in+line+connector&Ntk=I18NAll&Nr=AND%28avl%3auk%2csearchDiscon_uk%3aN%29&Ntx=mode%2bmatchallpartial&N=4294965277+4294954945&Nty=1") I would not go to RS myself but it's a good web site to show all the different types.
These (Google "ba.rs-online.com/web/search/searchBrowseAction.html?method=getProduct&R=0531431") are what I have used in past normally have a few in stock.
See also here (Google "cpc.farnell.com/duraplug/lcp103-whi/lead-connector-3-pin-white/dp/PL10426") note these (Google "cpc.farnell.com/schurter/r47320000/rewirable-iec-mains-connectors/dp/PL06086&crosssellid=PL06086&crosssell=true&in_merch=true&") which means you can use kettle lead to extend.

5 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
It is currently Thu May 23, 2024 10:06 am