New bathroom fan confusion after replacing old fan unit
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
pramplin
Labourer
Labourer

New bathroom fan confusion after replacing old fan unit

by pramplin » Wed Sep 14, 2022 7:49 pm

Hi all. I've read all of Google trying to figure out why my new fans aren't working so I've come here for advice.
I'm replacing an old bathroom extractor fan with a new one but can't get the new one to work at all. I've even tried two new fans and can't get either to work.
There are three wires coming from the ceiling - brown, black and grey. None of these are permanent live.
The first extractor I've tried is a timer model and has space for three wires but no configuration works. (This includes using a loop from L to LS.)
So I got a second extractor - one without a timer and with only two spaces for wires. But again, no wire configuration seems to work.
I'm not an electrician but I have been meticulous in being safe and ensuring everything is connected correctly each time.
But the whole thing has me baffled. Am I missing something obvious? Why won't either new fan work when the old one does?
Any help greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

Mr White
Project Manager
Project Manager

Re: New bathroom fan confusion after replacing old fan unit

by Mr White » Wed Sep 14, 2022 10:20 pm

Since it is down to who ever initially installed it what colour does what, it is not possible to advise remotely.
I would however suggest you put the old fan back and see does that work, as you may have either broken a wire, or pulled one out from a connection you can not easily see.
Also when you are working on anything electrical you should always have a means of safely testing, which you havent.
If you still get nowhere, you are going to have to get someone in.

pramplin
Labourer
Labourer

by pramplin » Wed Sep 14, 2022 11:09 pm