New radiator problem
Help and information on all topics relating to your central heating, air conditioning and ventilation issues.

6 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
advocat
Apprentice
Apprentice

New radiator problem

by advocat » Sat Nov 03, 2007 8:18 pm

hi Folks

I just changed one radiator in my kids bedroom today, the problem is(which i'm sure you heard a million times) is there is NO DAMN HEAT going into it.

I'm no expert in plumbing so i'll tell you what i know

I have a combi boiler system, no tank in the loft.
Pipe is micro bore 8mm
Fitted thermostatic valve 15mm to the new radiator, i followed the instructions but hey no ones perfect!!
All other rads in house would scald your hand to touch except this one and one right outside kids room which is only mildy warm at the bottom.

The thing i find strange is the micro bore pipe coming out the floor in kids room aint even slightly warm!

Tried bleeding it and water comes out straight away so i'm guessing this means there is no air in it.

The rad outside his room i cant bleed because i only got a plastic key and it wont budge it, the last one i tried was metal and it broke too.

So please folks help me out on this one, without the obvious call a plumber or heating guy!!

Thanks mucho!!

htg engineer
Project Manager
Project Manager

by htg engineer » Sun Nov 04, 2007 11:06 am

The one thats only warm at the bottome will just require venting, you will need a decent vent key though.

The one you have changed, check both valves are open and turn off a few of the other radiators and see if it will push through. It should as long as the old radiator used to work ?

marrtin
Foreman
Foreman

by marrtin » Sun Nov 04, 2007 1:16 pm

Silly question probably, but are you sure both valves are turned on?

If you drained the system down, it could be an airlock. Try turning off all the other rads that are getting hot. The increased pressure should hopefully free the flow.

advocat
Apprentice
Apprentice