Outdoor lights with two switches - confused
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

9 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
panthercap
Apprentice
Apprentice

Outdoor lights with two switches - confused

by panthercap » Tue Oct 10, 2023 9:05 pm

Hi,

I'm trying to work out the wiring for 5 outdoor lights I want to run along my garden wall. I'm not an electrician so my efforts so far are based on google. I want to run an SWA cable to my shed from a 32A fuse inside the consumer unit in the house, and then run cable in conduit from the shed to the 5 lights. I want a switch in the shed and another switch on the wall near the house.

I've based by wiring on this approach http://www.lightwiring.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/two-way-switching-wiring-diagram.jpg though I'm not entirely sure I've interpreted it correctly.

In the attached image I've done a diagram of the wiring.

I'm most confused by the way lights 2-5 are linked to light 1. It looks to me as though I'd be able to use 3 core and earth on the lighting supply, using the third core (the yellow line in my diagram) to connect the switching terminals in each of the lighting junctions.

It feels like a lot of wiring and an unholy mess on the back of the wall. I must be missing something?

Please help.

Many thanks

Panthercap
Attachments
wiring
wiring

ericmark
Project Manager
Project Manager

Re: Outdoor lights with two switches - confused

by ericmark » Tue Oct 10, 2023 10:29 pm

I think to do what you want would need 5 cores. May be easier to use smart stuff, be it smart switches or smart bulbs.

Mr White
Project Manager
Project Manager

by Mr White » Tue Oct 10, 2023 11:50 pm

Your first link does not work.

Your wiring diagram is wrong. Specifically lights 2 & 3
You will also have to "fight" to get that many cables in/out of each light
There is no Fused connection unit