Any Advice on Installing an Indoor air Vent brick Appreciated Please!
Information, help and tips on many areas of roofing including trusses, tiling, venting, insulation etc....

3 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
UKDIY123
Apprentice
Apprentice

Any Advice on Installing an Indoor air Vent brick Appreciated Please!

by UKDIY123 » Sun Jan 13, 2019 11:25 am

I'm a complete DIY newbie, and want to install a couple of air vent bricks, indoors, to a damp chimney breast area. Any advice/tips at all please?!

What I've gathered so far is -

I'll need an SDS drill, with an 8mm? masonry bit.
Drill holes in to the mortar around the (imperial sized) brick.
Plus I'll need a chisel blade too, to finish off the mortar removal.
The brick should be OK to remove at this point.

For the cement, I need lime and mortar.
I'll need a masonry trowl.

The chimney breast has wallpaper on it, so do I just simply "prod about" with a drill there, in order to try and find some mortar around a brick? I have no idea.

Thanks a lot for any thoughts! They would be really appreciated!

greengrass
Foreman
Foreman

Re: Any Advice on Installing an Indoor air Vent brick Appreciated Please!

by greengrass » Thu Jan 31, 2019 4:05 pm

Mat: Smoke pellets, easy plaster, trowel a rectangular laying on trowel for plastering, Box matches. Hire the drill or if you have a mains drill purchase a 25mm masonry bitbit with a turned shank that fits your drill chuck.