Newby Installing Infrared Heating Panels
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

6 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
georgeplumberfin
Labourer
Labourer

Newby Installing Infrared Heating Panels

by georgeplumberfin » Tue Apr 02, 2019 10:01 am

Hey all,

I was wondering if anyone could help me with Infrared heating panels.

I've been looking at some panels like the ones in this website:https://www.infraredplus.co.uk/ and I'm unsure whether it's worth paying for a fitter or if I'd be better off installing myself?

I have limited experience in plastering/putting in lightbulbs, so i guess im just wondering how dangerous it is, and how likely i am to get it wrong.

Any help appreciated.

ericmark
Project Manager
Project Manager

Re: Newby Installing Infrared Heating Panels

by ericmark » Tue Apr 02, 2019 5:44 pm

The problem with inferred heating is control. In a church used for one hour, or a workshop with doors opening all the time, it works great, however you can't use mark/space to control it, you need loads of heaters and you deploy more or less heaters as it makes you warm as soon as switched on, but also leaves you cold as soon as switch off, and of course line of sight.

Also inferred will pass through windows, so location is rather important.

As part of an integrated heating system it can work well, you keep the room at 16°C instead of 19°C then use inferred to make it feel like 19°C the secret is to maintain air temperature at 16°C and the panels are on sensors so only work when room in use.

The problem is since inferred does not heat the air, it will not operate a standard wall thermostat, so some one has to work out how much inferred is required so in a room with air at 16°C it feels like 19°C.