Sealing up an external air duct to gas fire
Information, help, tips and advice on cavity walls, ceilings and lofts etc....

1 post   •   Page 1 of 1
huwrugby
Labourer
Labourer

Sealing up an external air duct to gas fire

Post by huwrugby » Thu Dec 14, 2023 10:31 am

I am relatively new to home improvements but having done the simple things to the loft etc of my 4 storey 1999 townhouse I wanted to improve the airtightness of the building. Ultimately, I would like to install an ASHP but currently the property is borderline to install one, not least as the houses all have integral garages. It has partial fill cavity walls, and I am in the process of removing a gas fire with a flue to the roof on a party wall, exiting via a chimney that had a rain excluding cap on already but appropriate for the fire to continue to be used. The gas fire is on the first floor, so I anticipated that was a sizable stack effect. It was disconnected from the mains supply, and I had hoped to at least block the flue with a balloon or chimney sweep and leave the disconnected fire as a feature for now. Unexpectedly, there is also a plastic ventilation duct behind the fire which is fed from an air brick type vent on the exterior. I hadn’t considered this possibility to explain the duct. I would like to seal the vent but am concerned about leaving it in situ. A thermal camera doesn’t suggest the duct is contributing a lot of heat loss in the assumed route. Vinyl flooring was installed over the chipboard deck in the room some years ago & there was nothing at the time suggesting a ventilation duct. If more images would help, I can upload them but essentially there is a knocked hole in the base of the fireplace where the ducting appears as shown and externally the airbrick/vent opening is illustrated. I assume this was excavated when the house was built & fire installed. The internal run is about 1.5m.