Move a consumer unit
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
kipwad
Labourer
Labourer

Move a consumer unit

by kipwad » Sun Oct 26, 2008 9:37 am

Hi to you all
I should say at the outset I am a retired electrician, which sort of proves
you're never to old to learn.
I'm changing the garage into a bedroom and need to re-site the consumer unit. The meter box is on the outside wall and feeds the consumer unit via 2x25 mm double sheathed tails through the wall cavity, standard stuff. The new site for the consumer unit will be some 10m away, and as I need to get this right the first time, I could use some good advice as to what cable and protection I need to install so as to comply with all the relevant regulations etc

Thanks in advance

ericmark

by ericmark » Sun Oct 26, 2008 6:40 pm

In order to mount the consumer unit remote from the incoming supply you need an isolator at the incoming supply. I think this is fire regulations rather than electrical regulations at least I have never found it in BS7671.
Second problem is protection of cables with the new regulations see 522.6.6 I think that's the regulation. You can't protect with RCD so either SWA or trunking etc.
I am sure you are aware of Part P there is a link on projects.
The new 17th Edition BS7671:2008 is a pain with all the RCD rules and buried in wall rules. It's not cut and dried and there are many options and for you there is an ace you can play in that it is under supervision of a responsible person. I would not want to play the Ace as it would not help with house sales.
But there seems to be some disagreement in translating the BS7671 and as a result you will find conflicting advice only way is the read it yourself if your signing the completion cert. Or if someone doing it for you then get their advice first.
Eric

kipwad
Labourer
Labourer

by kipwad » Tue Oct 28, 2008 10:01 am

Hi Eric