rcd problems
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
ramster151
Labourer
Labourer
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2009 8:55 pm

rcd problems

by ramster151 » Sun Mar 29, 2009 8:57 pm

i have fitted a split load board with a rcd onto a original mcb board, the circuits are all working on the double pole side but not on the rcd side. it wont even click in?? can anyone help?

kbrownie
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 1995
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 9:36 pm

by kbrownie » Mon Mar 30, 2009 7:11 am

ramster151,
When you say it wont even click in, do you mean it wont reset or it wont test?
Are you aware of the required regulation concerning installing CUs?
KB

boldinvader
Labourer
Labourer
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 6:59 pm

by boldinvader » Mon Mar 30, 2009 7:17 pm

[quote="kbrownie"]ramster151,
When you say it wont even click in, do you mean it wont reset or it wont test?
Are you aware of the required regulation concerning installing CUs?
KB[/quote]
u should not be changing your own cu, it not done. anyway sounds like a crossed or borrowed neutral

sparx
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.

by sparx » Tue Mar 31, 2009 8:21 pm

Just to add: this is not safe DIY work for several reasons never mind legal issues, how was the supply made safe during changeover?
Now you have done it you find another good reason not to try DIY on such a job.
As suggested most likely problem is circuit neutrals on wrong neutral bar. all circuits must be on one side or the other, you can't have a live on sw. and N on rcd half and vice-versa, If this is not obvious to you then I think you are beyond your knowledge level and should seek qualified help,
regards

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
It is currently Mon May 27, 2024 4:07 pm