replacing an inlet hose for the washing machine
Help, advice and problem solutions on all aspects of home appliances from washing machines to TV's

9 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
natomo
Labourer
Labourer

replacing an inlet hose for the washing machine

by natomo » Sun Oct 12, 2008 10:19 pm

Hi,
I’d like you to give me the advice on replacing an inlet hose for Zannussi 1250.
I discover the leak from the connector of cold water hose (connecting the washer and the cold water pipe under the kitchen sink).
I tuned the stop cock near the connector and the leak stopped, but I guess I’m not able to use the washer until I replace the inlet hose.
I found the spare hose on line, but I have no experience of installing the washer myself, and I am wondering if I can replace the hose by myself or I should ask a plumber to do it.
Please give me any advice on what I should do so that I can use the washer again ASAP!
Thank you for your help.

plumbbob
Project Manager
Project Manager

by plumbbob » Mon Oct 13, 2008 7:29 pm

The inlet hoses are simple to replace. After turning the water off, unscrew the hose from the tap. The opposite end has the same fitting, and screws onto the washing machine inlet. Just simply remove and replace. Make sure the black rubber washer is removed too as it can stick to the fitting. The new hose should come equipped with new washers.

Unless the hose is split or damaged, you may only need to replace the rubber washers which are available in any hardware or DIY store.

natomo
Labourer
Labourer

by natomo » Mon Oct 13, 2008 11:04 pm

Hi Plumbbob,
Thank you so much for the detailed reply.
I will try to replace the rubber washer first as you suggested, because the leak seemed coming from only one spot, i.e. around the screw.
You wrote ‘after turning the water off’. I turned the handle of valve off and the leak stopped – is it enough or do I have to turn off the main water? (I don’t know how).