Two Way Switch as One Way Switch?
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

5 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
Spoonboy90
Labourer
Labourer
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:51 pm

Two Way Switch as One Way Switch?

Post by Spoonboy90 » Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:54 pm

I have mistakenly purchased a two way switch rather than a one way switch, can this be used as a one way switch or do i need to get a one way switch?

GoNz0
Tradesman
Tradesman
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 9:46 pm

Post by GoNz0 » Wed Sep 24, 2008 10:52 pm

L1 and C can be used as a one way

ericmark

Post by ericmark » Wed Sep 24, 2008 11:39 pm

Yes it can be used. You need to com and either of the other two terminals normally S1.
Eric

chris_on_tour2002
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 9:14 pm

Post by chris_on_tour2002 » Fri Sep 26, 2008 9:36 pm

more often than not if you ask for a one-way switch these days you'll be given a two-way. as a two-way can be used as a one-way some manufacturers no longer make one-way switches.

the same is not true in reverse however - one-way switches can only be used as one-way.

sparx
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.

Post by sparx » Sat Sep 27, 2008 8:22 pm

Just a thought for those using various switches...
I only purchase and carry on van 4 term intermediate switches as they will perform any function ie 1 Way, 2 Way or intermediate, thus saves searching for right type unfortunately cant find 2 gang intermediate type ,
unless you know different?.......

5 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
It is currently Mon May 13, 2024 7:51 am