Vertical Cooker Switch and Socket
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

15 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
dpeilow
Labourer
Labourer
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 9:47 am

Vertical Cooker Switch and Socket

Post by dpeilow » Thu Mar 19, 2009 10:02 am

Hi all,

I'm wondering if anyone can help me source the following:

I'm looking for a *vertical* 2-gang 45A cooker switch with socket, to use as a drop-in replacement for an existing "switch only" unit.

I know they must exist, as there is one on this BBC E s s e x story, but I can't find one anywhere...

Story: http://tinyurl.com/cmu9uj

Picture: http://tinyurl.com/c65ocv


Your help would be much appreciated.


D

stoneyboy
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 6440
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 6:44 pm

Post by stoneyboy » Thu Mar 19, 2009 10:47 pm

dpeilow,
Don't think you will get the same type with the 13A socket, you may have to fit one of the switch only units - crabtree or volex.
end

dpeilow
Labourer
Labourer
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 9:47 am

Post by dpeilow » Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:18 am

stoneyboy - that's the type I have now and want to replace. I can find a horizontal one, their pretty common, but wondered if anyone knows where the vertical ones are sold?

rosebery
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 2021
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 8:55 pm

Post by rosebery » Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:12 pm

SB said he doesn't and frankly, neither do I. Try asking Crabtree if they make one.

Cheers

rustyriv
Apprentice
Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 9:06 pm

vertical cooker switch/power outlet.

Post by rustyriv » Sun Apr 19, 2009 1:53 pm

Hello, I got mine from W F electrical wholesalers in, regards.

rosebery
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 2021
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 8:55 pm

Post by rosebery » Mon Apr 20, 2009 6:41 am

Rustyriv

Thats a helpful post seeing as either the mod has removed the town name of you forgot to put it in. The name of the manufacturer of the device would be better than the name of the outlet where you bought it.

Cheers

torlift
Labourer
Labourer
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:09 pm

Post by torlift » Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:12 pm

There is not one in the WF online website catalogue. I am also looking for one for the same reason. Has anyone else got one, should I ring WF tomorrow?

rustyriv
Apprentice
Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 9:06 pm

Post by rustyriv » Sun Apr 26, 2009 10:07 am

lets try again w.f. on the london road in high wycombe opposite the rifle butts pub, regards,

rosebery
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 2021
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 8:55 pm

Post by rosebery » Sun Apr 26, 2009 11:12 pm

Lets try again - what is the manufacturers name?

Cheers

torlift
Labourer
Labourer
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:09 pm

Post by torlift » Thu Apr 30, 2009 7:44 pm

I will ring them tomorrow.

My particular issue is that the lower 13A socket will not turn on. The easiest option is to repair it/convert it to be always live. Anyone got any ideas as to how I could do this or experience of why it may have failed? Is it simply a broken bit of plastic, I cannot move the switch, so it is not obviously snapped.

D

torlift
Labourer
Labourer
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:09 pm

Post by torlift » Fri May 01, 2009 9:16 am

Google "tlc-direct.co.uk/Products/CM1456.html"

Contactum part 1456

W F Have two in the country contactum no longer trading apparently.

Colchester or Chichester. I was advised to buy both and screw you over on price, but that's mean!

4-7 days inter store ordering, cost of £14.50

rosebery
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 2021
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 8:55 pm

Post by rosebery » Sat May 02, 2009 10:48 pm

"Colchester or Chichester. I was advised to buy both and screw you over on price, but that's mean! "

On the other hand he could just buy one direct from TLC per your link.

Cheers

torlift
Labourer
Labourer
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:09 pm

Post by torlift » Sun May 31, 2009 1:59 pm

OK it came from WF and was incorrect. Don't know why. So I re-ordered and I today received ine from tlc - Success!! Will be installaed tomorrow!

bd3cc
Foreman
Foreman
Posts: 323
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 8:02 pm

Post by bd3cc » Tue Jun 02, 2009 9:39 pm

I believe "Contactum" are no longer in production, so there is a shortage of their parts, and TLC were one of the few wholesalers to deal with them, so they are moving parts around, but are running out.

moggy1968
Ganger
Ganger
Posts: 198
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 11:32 am

Post by moggy1968 » Tue Jun 16, 2009 8:34 pm

crabtree do a vertical 2 gang cooker switch, although the one in my van doesn't have the socket

15 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
It is currently Tue May 14, 2024 10:18 am