Which to do first....extension or rewire?
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
Urchin
Apprentice
Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 7:15 pm

Which to do first....extension or rewire?

Post by Urchin » Sun Jul 05, 2009 6:23 pm

Hello

We are shortly starting work on our extension, but a rewire is also long overdue on our property.
Which is recommended to do first? We have budget to do both so its just a case of organising them both.

I *think* it makes more sense to do the rewire first, then just add the extension's electrics onto it?
As I am no expert though, I thought it best to ask here here :lol:

kbrownie
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 1995
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 9:36 pm

Post by kbrownie » Mon Jul 06, 2009 9:08 am

Depends how big the extension is, what you can do is, rewire existing installation making provisions for the wiring of extension, ie cables routed between CU and extension(don't connect them to CU though, leave them dead)
KB

Urchin
Apprentice
Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 7:15 pm

Post by Urchin » Mon Jul 06, 2009 9:47 am

hiya

Thanks for your reply. Its just a one-room extension so we will do as you suggested.

Cheers

moggy1968
Ganger
Ganger
Posts: 198
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 11:32 am

Post by moggy1968 » Mon Jul 06, 2009 5:07 pm

I'd agree, tell your leccie exactly what is planned and he can build it into the spec for the rewire, then get the conservatory done. Get the mess out the way before getting yourr nice new shiny conservatory!!
you wouldn't believe the mess a rewire can make, depending on how much chopping out is needed.

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
It is currently Mon May 13, 2024 9:30 pm