Wiring an electric cooker
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

5 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
EmmaS
Labourer
Labourer
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 10:14 am

Wiring an electric cooker

Post by EmmaS » Sat Jul 04, 2009 8:10 pm

I have bought a new electric cooker and the wire from the consumer unit to the cooker control unit is still there but i cant tell what the wire size is as it is the old fashioned wiring (black and red) twinned with earth. My first question is, is there any way I can find out the size of this wiring? My second question is, what size of new wiring do I need to connect from the cooker control unit (old wiring) to the new cooker?

BLAKEY1963
Site Agent
Site Agent
Posts: 684
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:57 pm

Re: Wiring an electric cooker

Post by BLAKEY1963 » Sun Jul 05, 2009 11:12 am

[quote="EmmaS"]I have bought a new electric cooker and the wire from the consumer unit to the cooker control unit is still there but i cant tell what the wire size is as it is the old fashioned wiring (black and red) twinned with earth. My first question is, is there any way I can find out the size of this wiring? My second question is, what size of new wiring do I need to connect from the cooker control unit (old wiring) to the new cooker?[/quote]

Emmas
It could be 6 or 10 mm2 . The size will of cable to connect 2 new appliance will depend on current rating of new appliance.
get in an electrician to advise u further
BLAKEY1963

kbrownie
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 1995
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 9:36 pm

Post by kbrownie » Sun Jul 05, 2009 6:51 pm

EmmaS,
As Blakey says. the cable size is dependant on the current rating of the protective device which is calculated by dividing the output of your cooker by the supply voltage then diversity can be applied. If a socket is on the cooker isolator that will also have an effect on the calculation.
But normally falls in to the 6mm or 10mm CSA.
Sometimes the size can be seen on the PVC sheath of the cable an electrician will know by sight but you can buy a tool to measure CSA.
KB
Last edited by kbrownie on Tue Jul 07, 2009 9:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

moggy1968
Ganger
Ganger
Posts: 198
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 11:32 am

Post by moggy1968 » Mon Jul 06, 2009 5:02 pm

or go into B&Q, have a look at the cable size of 10 and 6 mm and compare it to what you have. if you post the rating of your cooker we can estimaste what size of cable you need (although it does depend on factors additional to the rating of your cooker)

chris_on_tour2002
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 9:14 pm

Post by chris_on_tour2002 » Tue Jul 14, 2009 5:39 pm

you are dealing with pretty high currents and voltages here - as is always the case with electrics, if in any doubt then it's best to get in a pro.

5 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
It is currently Fri Apr 26, 2024 9:35 pm