Wiring electric cooker to socket
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
Daithio
Labourer
Labourer
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 3:41 pm

Wiring electric cooker to socket

by Daithio » Sun Feb 01, 2009 4:02 pm

Need some advice on wiring electric cooker to a double switch socket box on wall.Replacing a gas cooker. Have a 35 amp fuse connection seperate from normal fusebox, running to socket. Opened up the socket box, and found cable (red, black and earth) connected from mains to socket switch only. Do I simply need to connect a 6mm sq. cable from base of cooker and feed it to the terminals for cooker switch?? What precautions and advice do I need? Thanks a mil.

sparx
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.

by sparx » Sun Feb 01, 2009 8:10 pm

hi.
not entirely sure, but if I understand you correctly you have what is sometimes done when an electric cooker's not wanted initially.
A cooker point is wired but a double socket is fitted instead of a cooker switch. If so then the socket must be changed for a cooker unit, with or without a socket on it, you cannot just connect from socket terminals to the cooker as there would be no isolation point for cooker which is required,
regards SPARX

Daithio
Labourer
Labourer
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 3:41 pm

by Daithio » Tue Feb 03, 2009 9:36 pm

thanx for tips. just discovered a volex 45a cooker switch with smaller switch for the socket. Would that suit the 6mm sq cable fed from cooker to socket box?? i would like to keep the socket available The cooker is 10300 watts with 230v = 42 amp. there is a 35 amp fuse beside fusebox. What fuse would i need??

sparx
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.

by sparx » Wed Feb 04, 2009 9:10 pm

Hi again,
yes that would be fine to fit in place of existing socket on a 6mm cable as you say 35A fuse? are you sure it's not a 32A ? 35's an odd size.

As for load, 10.3 kW is around 44A but as I explained on another posting recently, their is an allowance in the regs for 'diversity' on cooker circuits which says you take:
10% of total ie 4.4A plus 30% of remaining load ie
[44-4.4] = 39.6A/30%= 13.07 + 5A for socket on panel, so total assumed load = 4.4+13.07+5=22.47A, well within your supply.
'On site guide' gives rule of thumb that any cooker up to 15,000w can run from a 32A cooker circuit,
regards SPARX

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
It is currently Thu May 23, 2024 9:50 am